The problem of sacrifices and burnt offerings – God versus religion

Mt 9:12 On hearing this, Jesus said, “It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. 13 But go and learn what this means: ‘I desire mercy, not sacrifice.’ For I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners.”

We (Christians) tend to focus on the part about the healthy not needing a doctor – but only the sick. The part about mercy and sacrifice – I feel like we (Christians) tend to think this message was meant for the Jewish leaders – but not for us. Which is unfortunate.

Source: The problem of sacrifices and burnt offerings – God versus religion

Published by chris

After spending 35 years working in IT on a liberal college campus, I'm happy to be retired from that field. I now "work" for a Jewish Carpenter, trying to be a child of God, doing as it says in Hebrews 12:15 - See to it that no one misses the grace of God.

Leave a comment