Whoever loves God must also love his brother and sister. No exceptions.

This one is especially meant for Christians.

It starts off with:

Whoever loves God must also love his brother and sister.  That’s not from me.  It’s from the Bible.  1 John 4:21.  And it’s a command from God.  Certainly, non-Christians might feel no obligation to obey it.  But if we’re Christian, it’s not a suggestion.  It’s not just a “nice” thing to think about.  It’s a command!  And there aren’t any exceptions to go with it.  In case you’re wondering – or even if you’re not – that includes our “brothers and sisters” from another country.  Again – Jesus gives no exceptions.

It gives the definition of the Greek word that gets translated in English as brother and sister.

Then, looks at some examples from Jesus to show who He had in mind, as far as things like brother, sister, neighbors.

After that:

By now, some of you are not happy with me.  Upset at me.  Some, even angry with me.  I’ll tell you what though – your anger is misplaced.  All I’m doing, if you even claim to be Christian, is reminding you of something you claim to believe.  To you, what I’ve quoted from the Bible you claim to believe is God’s Word, which is also something you claim to believe. 

You cannot pick and choose what to believe.  Well, actually, you can.  But God won’t.  And you know that.

So when I say that maybe you’re not really a true Christian in God’s eyes – it’s not me who will determine if you are or are not a follower of Jesus.  So don’t get mad at me.  Thank me.  Thank me for reminding you to take a look in the mirror.  For reminding you of things that you already know – but may have forgotten, in fear.

And there’s the reminder, from Jesus:

Mt 7:21 “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only he who does the will of my Father who is in heaven.22 Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name, and in your name drive out demons and perform many miracles?’ 23 Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!’

The conclusion, which I think applies to too many Christians:

Yes, I’ve removed plenty of planks from my own eyes.  More than I’d want to count.

All I’m asking, if you want to be following Jesus – is that you do the same.  And try to get as close as we possibly can, to the point where our love is perfect – like God’s love.  Where we love our brothers and sisters.  All of them.  No exceptions.

I invite you to read the whole thing at Whoever loves God must also love his brother and sister. No exceptions.

Published by chris

After spending 35 years working in IT on a liberal college campus, I'm happy to be retired from that field. I now "work" for a Jewish Carpenter, trying to be a child of God, doing as it says in Hebrews 12:15 - See to it that no one misses the grace of God.

Leave a comment