Trusting in God when you have cancer

Trusting in God when you have cancer

Do you trust in God when you have cancer?  Or do you get mad at Him for giving it to you?  And then, of course, run away from Him?    For most of my life, the answer was obvious.  Get mad and run away.

Trusting in God when you have cancerBut now I was diagnosed with cancer.  And my first instinct was not to run away.  Nor to get mad.  Instead, it was to run to God.  And trust Him that, no matter what happens, everything’s going to be OK.

I know, non-Christians reading this are going to think that’s impossible.  Or maybe stupid?  But it’s not.  It’s entirely possible.  And for a Christian, it’s absolutely the best thing to do.

Here’s why:

Jesus Comforts His Disciples

Jn 14:1 “Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me. 2 In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you. 3 And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. 4 You know the way to the place where I am going.”

I wrote a series of posts on my journey from diagnosis to deciding on how to proceed.  They are:

The problem of saying that God’s in control (even when you have cancer)

Each day has enough trouble of its own

Trust in God; Trust also in me – especially with cancer

I invite you to check the out.  Maybe they’ll help you.  I pray that they will.


Image by PDPics from Pixabay

Published by chris

After spending 35 years working in IT on a liberal college campus, I'm happy to be retired from that field. I now "work" for a Jewish Carpenter, trying to be a child of God, doing as it says in Hebrews 12:15 - See to it that no one misses the grace of God.

Leave a comment